fabric Mixes

Nicolá Cruz handles forthcoming fabric presents mix

We’re incredibly excited to announce that Nicolá Cruz is handling the next edition of our fabric presents series. Coinciding with release day on 18th November will be a launch party here at the club where Ela Minus, Marco Shuttle, Okouru, Jane Fitz, Enrica Falqui and Kiara Scuro will perform alongside Cruz right here in Farringdon. Tickets.

On ‘fabric presents Nicola Cruz', the French born, Ecuadorian raised producer presents a mix driving fiercely towards the strange, experimental, and unexpected of underground electronica. It also marks the first release in our mix series with strong roots in South and Latin American artists and music.

I feel I've reconnected with electronic dance music and that's what this mix is about in a way; being able to understand again, and to compose and play with this energy that I had forgotten. The same goes with my live show at the moment, the concept is basically enjoying the driving nature of electronic music.– Nicola Cruz

Through 26 tracks (mix edition) Nicolá Cruz finds a unique way to tap into the continent's illustrious musical past to create something utterly contemporary featuring music from the likes of Marco Shuttle, Verraco, Nick León, Jonny From Space and more. Untied from past works, the mix features a contemporary influence of sound spawning from South America.

Out today (1st September),
Cruz’ own track ‘Contato’ provides a linchpin to the mix. The track is typical of Cruz’ work, demonstrating a fusion of experimental production techniques with natural world signifiers, resulting in a real pioneering collaboration between the producer and the classically-trained Marcela Días Sindaco. Rio de Janeiro's Marcela Días Sindaco who also delivered ‘Ficção Inédita’ for the mix, provided sultry vocals for ‘Contato’.

The rest of the forthcoming mix travels through the opening track – the powerfully stabbing ‘Everything Falls Into Place’ from MMM (Errorsmith & Fiedel) – then sweeps through bass, breaks, techno, analogue-glitch, all the way to the folky Portuguese lyrics of ‘Mensagem Enviada’ from Rico Jorge. Nick León, Verraco, Varuna and machìna are a few of the artists who have provided exclusives that count towards the fourteen unheard tracks on an essential delivery to the fabric series. Cruz’ Fauna Extincta alias also graces the mix through the futuristic ‘IER’, only the second song to be released under that moniker.

The CD and streaming services play the continuous mix. Download stores supply a bundle of full length tracks and the continuous mix, while the double vinyl format features twelve full length tracks from the mix including Cruz’ own ‘Contato’ and ten more exclusive tracks. See below for the full vinyl and tracklists.

fabric presents Nicola Cruz is out on 18th November 2022 on CD, Digital and X2LP.

Join us to celebrate the mix launch on 18th November

The release of Cruz’ fabric presents mix is timed with his third appearance here at the club on Friday 18th November. He’ll perform alongside Ela Minus, Marco Shuttle, Okouru, Jane Fitz, Enrica Falqui and Kiara Scuro.

Photography: Jimmy Mould


Mix Tracklist:

1. MMM (Errorsmith & Fiedel) - Everything Falls Into Place
2. Saphileaum - Antique Bronze Vase
3. Syz - Unearth
4. CNDSD - Available Slot*
5. Nicola Cruz - Contato feat. Marcela Días*
6. Konduku - Antippen
7. Spike - Are These The Future
8. Radial - Vandal
9. Lovable Rogues - Twilight Manouvres
10. B-Flow - Flashbulb
11. Nick León - Multiplex*
12. Jonny From Space - Mambo n.305
13. Marcela Días Sindaco - Ficção Inédita*
14. Nicola Cruz - Polimetría*
15. The Electric Company - Electronique (Zach’s Soniq Toniq)
16. Klahrk - NuNegative
17. Rapid Antics - Constant Seizure
18. Baseck & Pilo - FEEL307*
19. Varuna - Reer*
20. machìna - Glued*
21. Nicola Cruz - System Mass*
22. Fauna Extinta - IER*
23. Anderson - Sea Glass*
24. Rico Jorge - Mensagem Enviada*
25. Verraco - Interpasividad*
26. Marco Shuttle - Polylayaring What I’ve Got*

*exclusive tracks

Vinyl Tracklist:

A1. Nicola Cruz - Contato feat. Marcela Días
A2. Syz - Unearth
A3. Nick León - Multiplex
B1. Rico Jorge - Mensagem Enviada
B2. Baseck & Pilo - FEEL307
B3. Nicola Cruz - System Mass
C1. Fauna Extinta - IER
C2. Verraco - Interpasividad
C3. Anderson - Sea Glass
D1. machìna - Glued
D2. Marcela Días Sindaco - Ficção Inédita
D3. Varuna - Reer