fabric Mixes

"A masterclass in low-slung and functional dance music": Saoirse's fabric presents mix is out now on vinyl

The mix is a defiant, full-circle moment for the beloved artist. It arrives today ahead of a launch party at the club on Saturday 9th September.

Here we have it. A release day for a Room 1 regular; fabric presents Saoirse [fabric Records] is officially out on all formats. The compilation is available to buy on CD and vinyl from today (8th September 2023). The CD plays all 19 tracks in one continuous mix with the vinyl featuring exclusive full length tracks across two double plates, including three exclusives - Saoirse's 'RM 1', Shanti Celeste's 'Fluffy' and 'Pilot' by Junes.

The shapeshifting release is a masterclass in "Michelin star mixing" (DJ Mag), taking listeners through deep house, dubby techno and trippy grooves. Saoirse delicately and deliberately places confounding sonic elements together in ways we never through could work so neatly: In his review of the release for Resident Advisor, Henry Ivry said that "this is the first time I've heard weirdo tech house and UK funky work so well together," and the Irish-times point out how well Saoirse "deftly" mixes "deep house with tantalising techno."

The release signifies more than the sum of its musical parts however, acting as a full-circle moment for the Dublin DJ, now producer and formidable party and label founder, who first found her musical footing in London via our very own Farringdon dance floor. On Saturday (9th September), it all comes into place, the mix is launched and we will all dance together, right here where it all started for Saoirse in London. We can only imagine what it may feel like for Saoirse to smash out her own track 'RM 1' in the club room of the very same name, as she takes to the booth for her first ever fabric all-nigher set. But it will probably feel fucking good.

“It's hard to articulate what doing a fabric presents means to me, a club and mix series I feel truly indebted to,” Saoirse says. “I think about myself as a DJ now and how I've pulled together a sound from the feelings and textures of those little tin cases, the techy swing of Craig's fabric 01, the mind altering drums of Shackleton’s fabric 55 or the risk taking of Villalobos' all own productions of fabric 36. To find myself sitting among my biggest heroes – words can't explain how good it feels, but it feels fucking good.”

Buy fabric presents Saoirse here.

Tickets for the launch party can be found here.

Mix Tracklist:

1.       Duckett - Flex
2.       Geeneus - Yellowtail
3.       Luca Lozano - Identify
4.       DJ NORMAL 4 - Transcendental Training Tactics
5.       Nitz - Mi-au
6.       Caim - Illusion
7.       Jacek Sienkiewicz - The Evidence
8.       616 - 369
9.       Junes - Pilot (EXCLUSIVE)
10.     Reba - Azimuth Circle
11.     Kompo - Function
12.     Javier Carballo - Beat Investigator
13.     Kosh - Square One
14.     Sin limites - Sin Limites
15.     Hamatsuki - Shrink
16.     Mammo - Summit
17.     Caunos - Herzsprung 1
18.     Shanti Celeste - Fluffy (EXCLUSIVE)
19.     Saoirse - RM 1 (EXCLUSIVE)

LP Tracklist:

A1       Saoirse - RM 1 [fabric Records] (EXCLUSIVE)
A2       Hamatsuki - Shrink [Fantastic Planet]                    
B1       Junes - Pilot [fabric Records] (EXCLUSIVE)      
B2       Mammo - Summit [Nduja]                        
C1       616 – 369 [616 Lab]      
C2       Shanti Celeste - Fluffy [fabric Records] (EXCLUSIVE)                                      
D1     Sin Limites - Sin Limites [Delicate Records]          
D2     Robert Livesu & Joe Montana - Chemical Voodoo [Made In Hong Kong] (EXCLUSIVE to the vinyl)